Prime Minister of India Profile, Indian PM Particulars


Indian Prime Minister's Profile

Prime Minister of India refers to the head of government of the Republic of India, and appointment and removal of this position takes place by the President of India. In India, unlike USA, there is no presidential form of government.

Job name:    The Prime Minister of India
Sitting  prime minister:    Narendra Modi
1st Prime Minister:    Jawaharlal Nehru
Definition:    The head of government of the republic of India
Appointment and removal:    President of India can Remove formally

Content Table

    1. Job overview

    ▪ Production method

    ▪ Responsibility

    2. Current Prime Minister

    3. Successive Prime Ministers

Job Overview: Production method

India is a parliamentary state. The President is only a symbolic head of state. The Prime Minister actually assumes all government responsibilities. The Prime Minister is the majority leader of the People’s House (lower house) of the Indian Parliament.
From India's independence in 1947 to the election of a new Prime Minister in the Indian Parliament in 2019, a total of 16 people have served as Prime Minister.

Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi Ji

Powers and Duties of the PM

The Indian Constitution stipulates that the Prime Minister and Minister must be members of the People's House (the lower house of parliament) or the Bundestag (the upper house of parliament). The Indian Prime Minister has a pivotal position in the political life of the Indian country.
The general reason is that the president appoints the leader of the parliamentary majority party of the people's house, or the leader of the majority parliamentary group of several party joint cabinets.

The Indian Prime Minister has the right to recommend that the President dissolve the People's House. The central government's Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister, is the highest executive body in India. It is composed of the Prime Minister, the Cabinet Minister, the Minister of State and the Deputy Minister and is collectively responsible to the People's House. The Prime Minister answers questions from members in Parliament and made an annual government work report.

The President of India is the head of state and commander of the armed forces, but since the President must exercise executive powers as recommended by the Prime Minister, and the Prime Minister also leads the majority parliamentary party in Parliament. It can be said that the Prime Minister is the most powerful core figure in the Indian government.
The Prime Minister has the right to nominate cabinet members, ministers, ministers of state, deputy ministers and other key government officials. The President is appointed on the nomination of the Prime Minister.

PM of India, the Prime Minister

Prime minister Now

Born in Gujarat, India in 1950, Hindu, Master of Political Science (as declared by himself) Mr. Narendra Modi is the Indian PM. Since 2001, he has been Chief Minister of Gujarat for 13 consecutive years. He joined the Bhartiya Janta Party – BJP in 1987 and was the general secretary, national secretary and general secretary of the BJP's Gujarat branch.

In 2014, the 16th Indian People's House election led the People's Party to win more than half of its seats. Inaugurated as Prime Minister on May 26, 2014. 

May 25, 2019, Narendra Modi was re appointed Prime Minister.

Successive PMs in India

1. Jawaharlal Nehru August 15, 1947-May 27, 1964
Acting Prime Minister Gulzari Lal Nanda May 27, 1964-June 9, 1964
2. Lal Bahadur Shastri June 9, 1964-January 11, 1966
Acting Prime Minister Gulzari Lal Nanda January 11, 1966-January 24, 1966
3. Indira Gandhi January 24, 1966-March 24, 1977 Indian National Congress Party
4. Morarji Ranchhodji Desai March 24, 1977-July 28, 1979 People's Party
5. Chaudhury Charan Singh July 28, 1979-January 24, 1980 People's Party
6. Indira Gandhi January 14, 1980-October 31, 1984 Indian National Congress Party
7. Rajiv Gandhi October 31, 1984-December 2, 1989 Indian National Congress Party
8. Vishwanath Pratap Singh December 2, 1989-November 10, 1990 (The National Front)
9. Chandra Shekhar (November 10, 1990-June 21, 1991) Social People's Party
10. P.V. Narasimha Rao June 21, 1991-May 16, 1996
11. Atal Behari Vajpayee May 16, 1996-June 1, 1996 Indian People's Party
12. Deve Gowda June 1, 1996-April 21, 1997 United Front
13. Inder Kumar Gujral, April 21, 1997-March 19, 1998 United Front
14. Atal Bihari Vajpayee March 19, 1998-May 22, 2004 Indian People's Party
15. Manmohan Singh May 22, 2004-May 26, 2014
16. Narendra Modi May 26, 2014-Present Indian People's Party

See also:

Ponzi Scam

Share on Social Media  >>

Post a Comment


Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.
Javascript DisablePlease Enable Javascript To See All Widget