What is Australian Prime Minister Job Position Work?

Australian Prime Minister Job Position, Oz PM Work

The Prime Minister of Australia is the head of the Australian Government and is appointed by the Governor of Australia on behalf of the Australian monarch. Because the Australian monarch is generally based in the UK and not in Australia, the role of the head of state is usually delegated by the Governor.

Position name:    Prime Minister of Australia

Appoint:    Australian Governor appointed on behalf of Australian monarch

Official residence::    Kirribilli House

First:    Edmond Button

Incumbent:    Scott Morrison

Table of Content

  1.      Job profile
  2.      Basis of Appointment
  3.      official Residence
  4.      Current Prime Minister
  5.      Successive Prime Ministers

Australian Prime Minister Job Profile

Australian Prime Minister is the head of the Australian Government and is appointed by the Governor of Australia on behalf of the Monarch of Australia. The Australian Constitution does not mention the post of Prime Minister, so the existence and authority of the Prime Minister are determined by convention. 
According to the practice of the Westminster system, the Governor of Australia, as a symbolic agent of the head of state, does not interfere in the administration, so the Prime Minister is the actual decision maker and the chief executive. 
Also in accordance with the legal structure of the Westminster system, the Prime Minister is elected by the party with the majority in the House of Commons (House of Representatives) and is considered the party's actual leader. The Prime Minister must usually be a Member of Parliament (MP). The current Prime Minister is Scott Morrison.
Prime Minister of Australia

Australian Prime Minister's appointment basis

The legal basis for the appointment of the Prime Minister by the Australian Governor is Article 64 of the Constitution. This section grants the Governor the power to appoint Ministers of the Crown (Minister), and stipulates that the nominee must be a federal MP or be elected a MP within three months of accepting the appointment. All ministers must join the Federal Executive Council before being sworn in. 
By convention, the first cabinet of the Executive Council constitutes the Federal Cabinet "The Cabinet". 
Article 64 of the Constitution also stipulates that the terms of office of the Prime Minister and other Ministers shall be determined by the Governor. 
In practice, the governor generally follows the recommendations of the Prime Minister.
The appointment of the Governor is usually directly nominated by the Prime Minister to the monarch. 
The monarch has also respected the nomination of the Australian Prime Minister to appoint the Governor since the independent status of the British Empire was confirmed in the 1930s.
Except for elections held every three years, the Prime Minister, as usual, should resign if the budget cannot be considered and passed in the House of Commons, or if the resolution of the House of Commons does not support the Prime Minister.

Although the governor has the right to dismiss the prime minister in law, the governor generally does not intervene. The only precedent in federal history for the Governor's removal of the Prime Minister was the constitutional crisis of 1975. Whitland, then prime minister, was unable to get the budget through in the upper house. 
Governor Cole summoned the Prime Minister and removed him without seeking the Prime Minister's opinion, while appointing opposition leader Frazier as Prime Minister. This decision was controversial at the time and today.

Similarly, although the Governor is legally appointed by the monarch, and by convention, the appointment and removal of the Governor is determined by the Prime Minister through a proposal to the monarch, but the monarch in Britain has never interfered with Australian constitutional government since the 1930s. 
Even during the constitutional crisis of 1975, Queen Elizabeth II still decided not to interfere, on the grounds that Australia had been an independent country since it accepted the Westminster Ordinance in 1942.

Australian Prime Minister's Residence

As the actual leader of the government, the Prime Minister has the right to use special aircraft provided by the Air Force. 
The Prime Minister's official residence in the capital Canberra is commonly known as the "Villa" The Australian Prime Minister's House (The Lodge), and the largest city in Sydney is the Kirribilli House in North Sydney Harbour. 
Former Prime Minister Kevin Rudd hired a senior chef, an assistant chef, a nanny, a senior butler and two assistant butlers in Canberra. 
A chef and a housekeeper in Sydney. The retired Prime Minister enjoys lifetime benefits.

Australian Prime Minister

At noon on August 24, 2018, Australian Treasury Secretary Scott Morrison won the Liberal Party leader's vote and will become Australia's 30th Prime Minister. According to the latest news from AFP on August 23, Morrison was sworn in as Australian Prime Minister.

What is the list of Australian Prime Ministers?

  1.  Edmund Barton January 1, 1901-September 24, 1903 Protectionist Party
  2.  Alfred Deakin September 24, 1903-April 27, 1904 Protectionist Party
  3.  Chris Watson April 27, 1904-August 18, 1904 Labour Party
  4.  George Reid August 18, 1904-July 5, 1905 Free Trade Party
  5.  Alfred Deakin July 5, 1905-November 13, 1908 Protectionist Party
  6.  Andrew Fisher November 13, 1908-June 2, 1909 Labour Party
  7.  Alfred Deakin June 2, 1909-April 29, 1910 Federal Liberal Party
  8.  Andrew Fisher April 29, 1910-June 24, 1913 Labour Party
  9.  Joseph Cook June 24, 1913-September 17, 1914 Federal Liberal Party
  10.  Andrew Fisher September 17, 1914-October 27, 1915 Labour Party
  11.  Billy Hughes October 27, 1915-February 9, 1923 Labor / National Labor / KMT
  12.  Stanley Bruce (February 9, 1923-October 22, 1929)
  13.  James Scullin October 22, 1929-January 6, 1932 Labour Party
  14.  Joseph Lyons January 6, 1932-April 7, 1939 United Party
  15.  Earle Page April 7, 1939-April 26, 1939 Country Party
  16.  Robert Menzies April 26, 1939-August 28, 1941 United Party
  17.  Arthur Fadden (August 28, 1941-October 7, 1941)
  18.  John Curtin (October 7, 1941-July 5, 1945, Labour Party)
  19.  Frank Forde July 6, 1945-July 13, 1945 Labour Party
  20.  Ben Chifley July 13, 1945-December 19, 1949 Labour Party
  21.  Robert Menzies, December 19, 1949-January 26, 1966
  22.  Harold Holt January 26, 1966-December 19, 1967 Liberal Party
  23.  John McEwen (December 19, 1967-January 10, 1968)
  24.  John Gorton (January 10, 1968-March 10, 1971)
  25.  William McMahon (March 10, 1971-December 5, 1972)
  26.  Gough Whitlam, December 5, 1972-November 11, 1975, Labour Party
  27.  John Malcolm Fraser November 11, 1975-March 11, 1983 Liberal Party
  28.  Bob Hawke March 11, 1983-December 20, 1991 Labour Party
  29.  Paul Keating December 20, 1991-March 11, 1996 Labour Party
  30.  John Howard March 11, 1996-December 3, 2007 Liberal Party
  31.  Kevin Rudd December 3, 2007-June 24, 2010 Labour Party
  32.  Julia Gillard June 24, 2010-June 27, 2013 Labour Party
  33.  Kevin Rudd June 27, 2013-September 18, 2013 Labour Party
  34.  Tony Abbott September 18, 2013-September 15, 2015 Liberal Party
  35.  Malcolm Turnbull September 15, 2015-August 24, 2018 Liberal Party
  36. Scott Morrison August 24, 2018-present Liberal Party

> SHARE this article >>

Post a Comment


Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.
Javascript DisablePlease Enable Javascript To See All Widget